Thursday, April 9, 2015

Review: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi (#1)


STAR RATING
4/5

All right you guys.  This book was absolutely a surprise for me.

I mean, the age of Dystopia is over.  I'm kind of done with it.  Aren't you just a little?  Sometimes, however, you come across one that surprises you.  (Or, at least, I do.)

I didn't want to read this book.  Like, I really truly had no interest.  I ended up reading it for my reading challenge...and I'M SO SURPRISED.  It almost lost my interest with those first 100 pages, but there was enough of a push to keep me going.  (My rule is that a book doesn't count for the challenge I'm doing unless I finish half of it.  So.  I had to finish half of it.)  But once I passed those 100 pages, the story started picking up, and my favorite thing ever happened:  The characters surprised me.

Boy, did they.  A pretty good amount.  I was SO excited about this.  Peregrine's character development was SO surprising and well-done that I just couldn't believe it.  And Aria, while not as amazing, still amazed me with her smooth transformation from scared Dweller to a tough fighter and someone willing to sacrifice for those she loves.

The world building was pretty impressive as well, as I got further on.  The beginning was a bit rough, like I said before, but once I settled into things, I started to piece the big picture together, and I really like what I see.  I honestly can't wait for the second book and all that's to come!


SYNOPSIS
WORLDS KEPT THEM APART.

DESTINY BROUGHT THEM TOGETHER.

Aria has lived her whole life in the protected dome of Reverie. Her entire world confined to its spaces, she's never thought to dream of what lies beyond its doors. So when her mother goes missing, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland long enough to find her are slim.

Then Aria meets an outsider named Perry. He's searching for someone too. He's also wild - a savage - but might be her best hope at staying alive.

If they can survive, they are each other's best hope for finding answers.


CONTENT
Fairly clean.  Two main characters have sex toward the end of the book, but it's handled with tact.

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Characters You'd Like To Check In With


HOLLA!  I love this category SO MUCH.  Okay.  Here goes.

  1. MY NUMBER ONE PRIORITY FOREVER AND EVER:  GANSEY.  RICHARD GANSEY III.  If this boy doesn't live through the next book in his series, The Raven Cycle, then I will also die.  Please bury me beside him.  I literally have panic attacks thinking about it so we're going to move on now.
  2. Warner, from the Shatter Me series.  (Kind of spoilery.  If you don't want to know, skip this one.)  I want to know how he is, how he's adjusting, how his relationship with Juliette is.  HE IS SO BEAUTIFUL.
  3. Laura Jean and Peter Kavinsky in To All the Boys I've Loved Before.  I cannot WAIT to see what happens between these two.  I need them to be together forever and get married and have cute babies and just...yes.
  4. Malva from The Princetta.  She was such an intriguing character and I always wanted to know more about her life after the events of this book.  So much happened at the end, and it was so sad, and I just want to knooooow.  How do you get over someone as wonderful as Orpheus???
  5. Cricket Bell.  I don't really want to check in with him.  I more want to steal him away from Lola and marry him.  (Shhh don't tell!)
  6. Percy Jackson.  My boy!  I love him so much!  I want to see how he and Annabeth are doing and offer to babysit their children...in the future...whenever they have them.
  7. Q, Paper Towns.  I love this young man so much.  According to this quiz, he is my soulmate.  So.  Obviously.  I'd like to find him wherever he is and smooch his face.
  8. Chaol.  I just really want to know if Sarah Maas is going to let him end up with Celaena or if he lives happily elsewhere or if she's going to KILL HIM like the heartless Writing Queen she is.  Let him live, please.  PLEASE.
  9. Lena and Alex.  Did they end up together?  Are they happy?  Did the rebels conquer?  Is everything as it should be? Etc. Etc.  Although, I'm one of the few readers who was TRULY happy with that ending.  I love that I can kind of feel my own way through the rest of their lives.  Oliver had to end somewhere, didn't she?  I loved where she chose.  But.  That's for another post.
  10. Gene and Sissy.  (The Hunt, The Prey, The Trap) WHAT EVEN THAT ENDING CAN WE JUST FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENED TO THEM AS THEY TRAVEL TO NEDE AND AFTER AND IS THERE LIFE AND CAN THEY LIVE AWAY FROM THE VAMPIRES?!  The list goes on.
So.  Who is on your list this week?

XOXO

Monday, April 6, 2015

Review: Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (#3)


STAR RATING
5/5

Read my review of Unravel Me, #2 in the series.

WELL OKAY THEN, MISS TAHEREH MAFI.  GO AHEAD AND PUMMEL ME WITH YOUR GORGEOUS PROSE AND BEAUTIFUL CHARACTERS AND LOVELY PASSION.

I AM CRYING IN A CORNER.

So, it's been, like, a couple of months since I read this.  I'm finally getting around to a review, and I'm realizing something key:  I am in no way less passionate or excited or less feelsey about this book than I was when I read it.  In fact, the memory of it is driving me crazy - I NEED TO READ IT AGAIN.

Actually, I need to read the entire series again.  But.  That will come probably next year. *le sigh*

Basically:  This book hurts me.  In the best way possible.  It made me feel things I did not know I could feel.  Being the person who always wants the MC to end up with his/her first love, IT WAS SO HARD FOR ME TO LET GO OF EVERYTHING I THOUGHT I KNEW.  But.  Mafi set this up so well that I couldn't help but fall right into Warner's arms and lay there helpless.  I am a damsel in distress for this book, I admit it freely.

And that ending.  THAT ENDING.  WAS ANYONE EXPECTING THAT!?  I was just so surprised...  It was so...like....just...what?!  But so satisfying as well.  I cannot with any of it.

I might cave to that re-read before the end of the year, actually.  I have no willpower.

At this point in time, I'm sure everyone else in the world has read this book.  But.  To avoid spoilers I will end my review here...  With lots of fangirling and squealing and crying and sighing and FREAKING OUT and say:  If you haven't read this series...what the hell are you waiting for?!

End panic mode.

(AHAHAHA JUST KIDDING.  PANIC MODE LIVES ON WITHIN.  BECAUSE OF THIS BOOK.)


SYNOPSIS
The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Tahereh Mafi has created a captivating and original story that combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and satisfying end.

CONTENT
Lots and lots of kissing.  Language as well.  But SO much kissing.  And touching and taking off of clothes and...implied sex.  I mean, not I'm complaining - and it was all written SO beautifully - but I wouldn't pass this book on to my 14-year-old sister, if you know what I mean.

Wednesday, April 1, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday (#1)

HUZZAH! I'VE CAVED!  I'm caving to all the things, lately.  Anywho.  This is hosted by Breaking the Spine, who you should totally check out.


For my first week, I'm picking a book that is the final in one of my favorite trilogies in the entire world.  (Click the cover to head to Goodreads.)

THEIR SHATTERED LIGHT
Starbound #3
Kaufman & Spooner


IF YOU WANT TO KNOW ABOUT MY FEELINGS FOR THESE BOOKS, READ MY REVIEWS:

They ruin me, and I doubt this final book will disappoint.  I'm so excited to have my emotions destroyed yet again.  I didn't need those tears, anyway.

What are YOU waiting for this Wednesday?

XOXO,
Sierra


Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Books You Recently Added To Your To-Be-Read List

Oh yay!  I'm so excited to be doing this again.  I've missed this meme.


Diving right in...  These are the ones that I am most excited about.  To check out my TBR, here's a link.  Beware.  It's long.


  1. The Mermaid's Sister by Carrie Ann Noble.  Hello, gorgeous cover.  Hello, brilliant synopsis.  HELLO.  Give it here, okay?
  2. Even When You Lie To Me by Jessica Alcott.  Why this book has me so excited, I have no idea.  But this SYNOPSIS.  It gives me chills.  It gives me the sense that these characters won't have a happy ending, or if they do it will defy all YA odds.  Ya feel me?  I mean, seriously.  And it's for fans of John Green, Sarah Dessen, and Lauren Oliver.  Oh.  Hell.  Yes.
  3. Lock & Mori by Heather W. Petty.  I just discovered this one Sunday.  SHERLOCK AND MORIARTY AND COMPETITIONS AND MYSTERIES AND JUST. YES.
  4. Bookishly Ever After by Isabel Bandeira.  This looks sooo cute and like something I'll really relate to.  Cannot wait to get my hands on it!!
  5. Love in a Time of Monsters by Teresa Yea.  Go look at that cover, go on, and tell me that you're not fascinated.  I must get this book THE SECOND it is released.
  6. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes.  HELLO!  I know I have had this book on my shelf from the library for, like, three weeks - I haven't added it to Goodreads somehow?!  Like, what went wrong and where?  So confused.  But I am soooo excited to read it because...it looks like it's going to be awesome.
  7. The Waterborne Blade by Susan Murray.  EEEEP!  Fantasy that I am soooo excited about.  And I LOVE Angry Robot books... Can't wait to dive into this one in May!
  8. Da Vinci's Tiger by Laura Malone Elliott.  I don't normally read books like this, but that COVER.  And the synopsis actually has me really intrigued, so I will give it a shot.  I will probably get it from the library, but I'm looking forward to it.
  9. Soundless by Richelle Mead.  This woman has me hooked on Sydney and Adrian right now, so I'm looking forward to reading this new series.  I mean, Chinese folklore?!  YES PLEASE!
  10. Hello, Goodbye, and Everything In Between by Jennifer E. Smith.  This woman and her titles and her beautiful couples and ALL THE FEELS.  You guys know how much I love Smith, right?  If you don't, read this.  But really though.  I preordered this the second I found out about it.
And that's my list!!  What's on your TTT this week?

XOXO